Letter to SPCO Management, Kevin Kooiker, 10/18

Message: I sent this e-mail today via my SPCO liaison, after she forwarded the e-mail from management I’d already received:

Ashley,

As my  liaison, I hope you will pass on my anger at the SPCO management at the situation they have forced on us as patrons and donors. If we had been approached with the idea that, unless we increase our donation rates, the SPCO management will be forced to take drastic action, we might have responded. Instead, the SPCO management has decided to take actions which threaten to turn the organization into a nice little part-time semi-professional group. If I wanted to go to the St Cloud Symphony Orchestra, I would be doing that already. When I go to hear the SPCO, I expect to hear a world-class ensemble. The SPCO will not remain a world-class organization paying artists starting salaries of $50,000. This is an appalling joke. The management needs to rethink its approach to fundraising and negotiations, or it needs to be replaced, starting from the top.

Thank you,

Kevin Kooiker